Board Appreciation Award Previous Recipient List

Coastal Impact Award

2007 Margo Pellegrino

2009 Manase Mansur

2010 Juli Schulz & Katherine Nguyen

Environmental Activism Award

2007 Larry & Blake McElheney

2009 Jerry Collamer

2010 Stiv Wilson

Development Award

2007 Randy Rennick

2008 Harriet Zaretsky and Steve Henry

2009 Randy Rennick and Rick Saveri

2010 Jason Latos

Chapter Leadership

2007 Adrian Nelsen

2008 Scott Werny

2009 Julie Lawson

2010 Rob Nixon

<u>Distinguished Service</u>

2007 Ken Auster

2008 Glenn Suba

2009 Belinda Smith

2010 Ken Palley

Outstanding Contribution

2007 (Under 17)—McKenzie Steiner

2007 (Volunteer)—Matt White

2007 Michael Rhodes, Mike Trayner, Todd Bontemps, Julie Wicklund of Cooley Godward Kronish

2008 Bob Mignogna

2009 Robb Havassy

2010 Know Your H2O Production Crew, Belinda Smith, Marty Benson,

Drew Albenze, Laura Clapper, Jesse Pattison & Zuleikha Robinson

Corporate Partner

2008 Barefoot Wine

2009 Aveda

2010 Saatchi & Saatchi

Surf Industry Partner Award

2010 Billabong

Special Recognition

2008 LPA Inc.

2008 JJS Inc.

2008 Surfing Magazine

2008 Surfer Magazine

2008 Transworld

2008 Surfline

2008 Vans

2009 Leanne Fremar

2009 Kerry O'Bryan

2009 McDermott, Will and Emery LLP

Winners from 2006 & Beyond (please note that the awards were known as Board Appreciation Awards and the categories were different)

2006

Fernando Aguerre

International support of our Argentenian chapter.

Lance Anderson

For outstanding contributions to the Surfrider Foundation

Felipe Bascope

Outstanding assistance to the Marketing Department.

Blue Water Publishing (Steve Zelden & Monica Steinberg)

Strong print supporter – marketing assistance

Buffalo Exchange

A fine example of a company that incorporates a "green ethic" and raised \$50K for Surfrider

Chuck Butera

Technical Assistance in Membership. Chuck has donated hundreds of hours to help unify our membership and financial databases.

Rob Caulfield, CEO of TrustCommerce

Every year, TrustCommerce's free e-commerce services to Surfrider increases.

Ross Garrett/Surfing Magazine

As the Assistant Publisher of SURFING Magazine, Ross Garrett conceived and implemented International Surfing Day – the first official global celebration of the sport of surfing.

Terry Gibson

Support of Surfrider Foundation and promotion of the SF mission

Todd Houlette, Pro bono designer for State of the Beach Report Todd has designed the State of the Report on a voluntary basis for at least the last 4 years. He has consistently provided us with an incredibly high quality design.

Ken Lindeman. Environmental Defense

Assistance with Florida Chapter Issues as well as assistance with the Tres Palmas campaign.

Chris Manthey

Chris has been a consummate activist volunteer working as a resource to many chapters on the east coast.

Joel Banslaban, New York City Chapter

Outstanding leadership as chapter chair. Joel recently stepped down as chair.

Scoop Media / Amy Denoon and Shannon Mahoney

Assistance with Cut-A-Thon media

Mark Spalding

For his many contributions to the organization and his help in the jump start the international work.

Ken Weiss, LA Times Reporter For Altered Ocean Series

2005

Adam Abrahms, Proskauer Rose LLP (Nominated by Kremer)

Pro bono employment law assistance

Eugene Alper (Nominated by Mazzarella)

Outstanding Chapter leadership

Dick Baker

For his support of the Surfrider Foundation

Jeff Duclos

Active and committed to Surfrider on chapter, board, and committee levels. Exemplary volunteer.

Scott Hulet

For his work on the Art for the Oceans auction

Mikki Lefferts

Las Vegas activist for assistance with Earth Day events in Las Vegas

Sal Masekela

Support of the Surfrider Foundation

Dave Russell

San Diego film maker. Assisted in getting Surfrider Foundation PSA in SpongeBob Square Pants video and assisted in organizing the John Kelly Awards with the Oahu Chapter.

Surfline / Sean Collins, Jonno Wells, Dave Gilovich, Marcus Sanders, Tim Chandler

Total and complete support of the Surfrider Foundation

Western Federal Credit Union / Karen Banitch, Christine Klein

Membership assistance

Wyland

Support of Surfrider Foundation

Drew Brophy

Support of the Surfrider Foundation

2004

Clif Bar

For being the first ever sponsor of Surfrider Foundation's Chapter Membership Drive

Crispin Porter + Bogusky

For their pro bono work with Surfrider's PSA campaign

FUEL TV

For donating nearly \$300,000 in commercial air time for Surfrider PSA's

Gene & Rachel Gore

For their exceptional effort in paddling the Texas Coast, which received nationwide media attention.

Hugh Hildesley

For his outstanding auctioneering skills at the Gala

Frances Lam

Membership Fulfillment Superstar

Chase Oldfield

Consistent high end donor for over 6 years

Juli Schulz

For her exceptional work in helping to organize the 20th Anniversary Gala event.

John Singleton

High end donor and supporter of the Pratte Scholarship.

Sean Smith

SIMA Executive Director for his continued support

Mike McCann

Seattle Chapter activist for his successful efforts to gain corporate support for Surfrider's RTB campaign in the PNW.

2003

Bill Exner/ Mission Printing

For their outstanding support

Jeff Divine

For his contribution of time and photos

Congressman Frank Pallone

For his efforts to preserve the New Jersey Coast

Randy Rarick s

Support of the organization and efforts to inject Surfrider Foundation into professional surfing

Vipe Desai / Propaganda HQ

For their work in developing our new endemic ad campaign

Guy Motil

For his years of support and free photography

Bob Keats

For Gaviota Coast & National Seashore Study (decade long campaign)

Tara Dakides

For her contributions to S2S video and promoting us on her website

George Downing Save our Surf and Asbury Park New Jersey

Efforts and assistance to the Surfrider Foundation Executive Director

John and Marion Kelly

For their Hawaiian preservation efforts through Save our Surf and assistance to the Asbury Park New Jersey issue.

Chris and Tracy Keys

Support of the organization and dedicated years of service

2002

Donavon Frankenreiter

Support of Surfrider Foundation

Julie Freeman

Pro Bono State of The Beach Report Designer

Carla Frisk

Jack O'Connell aide instrumental to the preservation of the Santa Barbara coastline

Chris Hewitt

Spanish translation of Surfrider Foundation programs

Rick and Shelly Kahn

Ban Shark Feeding Campaign in Florida

Mitch Lambert

Pratte Reef Monitoring

Grant Nye

Malibu educational video and Lagoon Task Force

Ocean Outfall Group

Efforts to stop 301(h) waiver in Orange County

Zach Rabinor

International Research

Leon Richter

Puerto Rico Campaign

Rod Rogers

Beachscape mapping in Puerto Rico

Bill Rosenblatt

Saving Waves in Jersey

Don Schulz

301(h) campaign

Rebecca Scotti

International Research

Shaun Tomson

SF Advisory Board Chair

Tom Warnke

Leadership in Florida

Rick Wilson

EIT work

2001

Harold Hofer

Donor Circle

Paul Jenkin

Matilija Dam and Surfers Point

Paul Naude

Support

Debbee Pezman

Support

Steve Pezman

Support

Jill Tierney

Volunteer

Michael Walther

EIT

2000

Darryl Hatheway

BEACH Bill

Gary Sirota

BEACH Bill

Felipe Bascope

PSAs

Marco Gonzalez

IBWC

Rory Wicks

IBWC

South Bay Chapter

Pratte's Reef

Elizabeth Sturcken and MA Chapter

Beaches Bill

Keith Zandona

Hammond's Access

Environmental Defense Center

Hammond's Access